In 1909 Holcomb was officially platted. The Holcomb Post Office was established the same year. The town was named in honor of D.C. Holcomb, a local rancher. In the 1950’s the Alfalfa Dehydrating Plant in Holcomb was established by the W. J. Small Company. The plant continued operation until 1985. The plant brought more people to Holcomb and increased enrollment in the Holcomb School District. H. C. Wiley started the Holcomb State Bank in 1912 and the building still stands at the corner of Main Street and Douglass Avenue. That bank was robbed at least twice during its operation. The first was in 1917 and $1500 was taken. In 1930 the Fleagle gang robbed the bank the second time. The second floor was used as a social hall. The City of Holcomb has exceeded 2000 residents as compared to 270 residents in the era of the 1950’s.