Colleges & Universities

Kansas has valued education since before it became a state, establishing its first institution of higher learning in 1858, which is now Baker University. There are three major research universities, the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas State University in Manhattan, and Wichita State University in Wichita. Additionally, there are dozens of Division II, Division III, and community colleges. 

Major Universities

University of Kansas
Kansas State University
Wichita State University 

Division II Schools 

Washburn University
Pittsburg State University
Fort Hays State University
Emporia State University 
Newman University

Other Institutions Of Higher Education 

Baker University
Benedictine College
Bethany College
Bethel College
Central Christian College
Friends University
Haskell Indian Nations University
Kansas Wesleyan University
Manhattan Christian College
McPherson College
MidAmerica Nazarene University
Ottawa University
University of St. Mary 
Southwestern College
Sterling College
Tabor College 

Related Content

About Kansas

Want to learn about the Sunflower State? We've got you covered!

E-News Signup

Receive periodic e-mail updates on the latest Kansas travel news, events, festivals, attractions, vacation packages and special offers.

Coupons + Deals

Find coupons and deals for places all over Kansas including shopping, activities, and stays.

Kansas Turnpike

The Kansas Turnpike will convert to a cashless tolling system on July 1, 2024.  


Kansas publications that will help you plan your trip, discover new attractions, and learn about our state!

Travel Information Centers

Looking for advice about the best places to visit in Kansas? Stop in for maps, directions and brochures about attractions, events and…

Travel Info

Travel Information Updates, Transportation, Weather, and Road Conditions.