The Wilcox School - District 29 - is only one of a few remaining rural schoolhouses in Trego County. The school served Wilcox Township, a rural settlement approximately 16 miles south of WaKeeney, for sixty years.
The early settlers worked together to organize this project and built the school in 1886 of native limestone, quarried along the Smoky Hill River, 1/2 mile south of the building site. The limestone was quarried on the south side of the river and hauled to the building site across the river on low-water bridges and natural fords.
The school was the hub of the community and used for many activities, such as church services, literary programs, draft registration, township meeting hall; and voting site. During WWII the school was part of the Cotton Mattress Program, where mattresses were made by local community members.
After the school closed in 1947, it became the clubhouse for the Hi-Plains Gravel Grinders Motorcycle Club.
The Smoky Valley Scenic Byway committee is working to preserve the Wilcox School, which is located on the Byway. It is also located close to the Smoky Hill Trail or Butterfield's Overland Despatch and is listed on both the State and National Register of Historic Places. The standing stone schoolhouse served the test of time and is a memorial to the early settlers of Wilcox Township - District 29.