Whether you're a child of the Fifties or just curious about lifestyles from this nostalgic era, The 1950s All-Electric House offers an eye-opening look at the technology of the times. Showcased inside were futuristic gadgetry like a hidden television, electric curtain opener, a garage door opener and "the year 'round air conditioner…known as the heat pump.
Originally constructed by Kansas City Power & Light electric company in 1954, this five-room ranch house captures why a home in the suburbs was part of the American dream after World War II. The model home was open for a period of six months as a model home in the bedroom suburb of Prairie Village. It was a must see for many -- over 62,000 people toured the home in 1954, a number equal to that of Johnson County’s entire population.
A family home for forty years, The 1950s All-Electric House is once again a model house open for today’s tourists. Step inside to discover this "house of the future!”
The 1950s All-Electric House at the Johnson County Museum is currently closed to the public.
The House will reopen in its new location at the Johnson County Arts and Heritage Center in the Spring of 2017. Since opening in 1998, over 55,000 people have toured the House. The closing of the House is the first tangible step in the Johnson County Museum’s move to the Johnson County Arts and Heritage Center in the former King Louie Building, located at 8788 Metcalf Avenue in Overland Park. The House will move in the spring of 2016, while the main Museum building will remain open through late 2016. At the new location, the All-Electric House will be a featured inside the building, as a cornerstone of the new signature exhibition, Shaping Johnson County: Pursuit of a Good Life. Please check our website and Facebook for updates or call the Museum at 913-715-2550 for more information.
- Native American:
- Historic Trails:
- Other Museums: