Construction of the first church, a frame building 41’ by 20’, began in the fall of 1877 and was completed in February 1878. In 1883, the church was enlarged by adding another 16’. During the 1880’s immigration from Russia continued and the congregation at Munjor grew. In 1889 church members decided it was time to build a new church and construct it of native limestone. The cornerstone was laid on Passion Sunday 1889, and by December of that same year the roof was completed. The church was dedicated in 1890 in honor of Saint Francis of Assisi. The church is 105’ long, 49’ wide and 50’ high. The 60’ high tower was designed for a steeple, but due to a lack of funds, the steeple was not completed until 1906. This church and its members were faced with a great tragedy on February 5, 1932, when the church burned. Many of the interior furnishings were saved by the parishioners, but the altars, organ, bells and stained glass were destroyed by the fire. The church was restored with the same appearance it had prior to the fire with the exception of the steeple which was never replaced. On June 3-5, 1946, the windows were replaced and are among some of the finest stained glass windows in Kansas! Active parish. Free tours by appointment. Daily masses Tue & Th 8 am and weekend Masses: Sun - 8 am.