St. Bridget Parish started in 1862 with Irish settlers. The present church building was completed in 1908. St. Bridget is a red brick building located six and one half miles North of Axtell. It has a unique interior featuring 8 long stained glass windows that depict biblical subjects or saints and high vaulted ceilings. The architect George Studuhar, used Gothic style pointed arched vaults and half vaults in the design.
St. Bridget Church is currently only one of four known to be in good shape in Kansas. It is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places.
Open by appointment only.