Benedictine monks established the Abbey in 1857. Today, it is home to about 58 monks. Construction of the church was delayed by the Great Depression, but was completed in 1957. It was designed by a student of Frank Lloyd Wright and has many interesting modern architecture features. It has a 44-foot nave ceiling and facing choir stalls where monks gather three times a day for common prayer. Frescoes by artist Jean Charlot and a 44-rank Moeller organ complement the church. Guests are invited to join the monks for the Liturgy of the Hours. Brochures for a self-guided tour are available in the foyer. Guided tours are available by advanced appointment.