The Muchnic residence is one of the most elegant of Atchison's numerous Victorian mansions. The 14-room, three-story, brick residence was built in the the Queen Anne-style in 1885 by lumber merchant George W. Howell. For several years prior to the home's construction, Mr. Howell carefully collected beautiful woods to use in the interior. Handsome parquet flooring of walnut, mahogany and oak is found in the lower and upper halls, the dining room and library. Exceptional decorative millwork is found throughout the house. Other details include the original fireplace tiles (each representing a theme), fireboxes, fenders and bronze fireplace trim. Embossed leather is found on the wainscoting and ceiling moldings in the dining room and the lower and upper halls. Etched glass embellishes the transoms above the bedroom doors on the second floor. The leaded stained-glass conservatory windows are appropriately of floral design. The upper lights of the library, parlor and dining room windows are also decorative stained glass. The third floor originally was used as a ballroom. The first floor is furnished as it was when the Muchnic family lived there in the early 1900s.
H.E. Muchnic, founder of LFM (now Atchison Steel Casting & Machining), purchased the home in 1922 for $9,000. It is now owned by The Muchnic Foundation, which has made it available to the community for use as a gallery and for related art functions.