The King Bridge Company constructed the Austin Bridge in 1872. The 160-foot bowstring arch design would span the Neosho River east of what is now Chanute. The pioneers invested $15,000 in the bridge for their economic future involving getting livestock and crops to the railhead. In 1910, the bridge was moved downstream to the community of Austin. In 1972, it was closed to vehicular traffic, remaining open to foot traffic. On September 15, 1977, the bridge was added to the National Register of Historic Places. In August of 1999, the bridge was moved into Santa Fe Park to become the southern terminus of a 3.5-mile hike/bike path. A Federal grant, Neosho County and the City of Chanute supplied funding for the project.