City of Ottawa

(785) 229-3600

Ottawa was incorporated in 1866 and in 1867 voted to become a city of the second class under the guidelines established by the State of Kansas. During the same time frame, a bridge company was formed, and constructed a suspension bridge across the Marais des Cygnes River at Main Street, purchased by the City in 1874. City Hall was constructed at the corner of Fourth & Walnut in 1911 and remained at that location until August 1996 when it moved to 101 S. Hickory. CITY MANAGER & COMMISSIONERS Ottawa was governed by a Mayor-Council system until 1913 when the City became a Commission form of government. In 1970 voters established the City Manager form of government with a five (5) member Commission, which annually selects a Mayor from its ranks. Three seats on the Commission are open every odd numbered year. Two Commissioners are elected to four-year terms and one is elected to a two-year term. The City Commission is the legislative and policy making body of the City. Regular City Commission meetings are held on the first and third Wednesday of each month. The first Wednesday meeting is scheduled at 7:00 p.m. and the third Wednesday is set at 9:30 a.m. The City Commission also meets at 4:00 p.m. every Monday afternoon in work session and in joint session with the County Commission and members of the U.S.D. 290 School Board every third Wednesday at noon. All meetings are open to the public. The City Manager is appointed by the City Commission to serve as agreed upon by a written employment agreement. The City Commission may remove the City Manager from office at any time. The City Manager serves as the CEO of the City and is charged with the responsibility of supervision, coordination, and administration of the City, and carrying out policies of the City Commission.

Kansas highlights