Cavalry Historic Barn
This historic barn built of native limestone is all that remains of Chase County’s Cavalry Unit. In August of 1926 the 2nd Squadron Headquarters Detachment 114th Cavalry was organized in Cottonwood Falls by Frank Dunkley who was to head the organization. Enlistment included 27 young men from the area. In October of 1926 the mustering in by the federal government was made by Major Chandler of Topeka and by Col. Roy Perkins for the state of Kansas. That same month the Cottonwood Falls City Council voted to spend $2000 to build a barn in Swope Park for the Cavalry to rent to the government for $15 a month. After completion in February 1927 the barn stabled 10 horses, provided feed and supply storage, and living quarters for a caretaker. But the barn’s life as a cavalry barn was short-lived. Less than 3 years later in May of 1929 it would become an armory, which was used for headquarters for the Headquarters Company First Battalion of the 137th Infantry. Restoration of the Cavalry barn and armory is ongoing by the Cavalry Barn Committee, which even includes descendents of the original unit. Their goal is to restore the barn to its original condition with displays of cavalry and infantry equipment.