In the fall of 1882 the Opera House opened with a grand celebration. Then after 16 years as the cultural "heart" of Junction City, the building burned one winter evening in 1898. Within days citizens had raised the funds to rebuild, and nine months later it was reopened, this time with a native stone theater attached to the red brick City Hall. The building was now an eclectic mix of materials and architecture very similar to the eclectic makeup of the town to which it belonged. Now 110 years later the Opera House-which in the intervening years has functioned as a theater and concert hall, the city offices and fire department, a storage location for World War II construction materials and a movie theater before it stood for 25 years as an empty shell-has now been reborn, thanks again to the tenacity of Junction Citians from all walks of life who would not give up on saving the antiquated structure. Place on the Historic Register in November 2003, the complete renovation to restore this "Jewel of the Prairie" has now been completed. On October 3, 2008 the Junction City Opera House was renamed the C.L. Hoover Opera House and re-opened its doors to the performing arts.