St. Fidelis Church in Victoria, also known as the “Cathedral of the Plains”, was built in 1908-1911 of native limestone. This majestic church is built in the shape of a cross 220’ long and 110’ wide at the transepts, or lateral arms. The twin bell towers are 141’ tall and can be seen from miles around. The church was dedicated on August 27, 1911 and has a seating capacity of 1100. At the time when it was built, it was the largest church west of the Mississippi River. William Jennings Bryon nicknamed this church the "Cathedral of the Plains" in 1912. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visitors welcome. Self guided tours. Guided group tours available by appointment. Call the Parish Office - 785-735-2777 In 2008, the Kansas Sampler Foundation selected the Cathedral of the Plains as one of the Eight Wonders of Kansas.
This church is an active parish with weekend masses on Saturday evening and Sunday morning.