Built by Abraham and Mary Rawlinson in 1860-61, this stone home was the last house freighters passed going west when leaving Council Grove as late as 1863. From their home on the edge of the frontier, the Rawlinsons witnessed long trains of freight wagons loaded with goods, heading to or from Santa Fe. This home was a welcome sight to the freighters, as it signaled their return to civilization. The property was purchased by William Riley Terwilliger in 1870, who added the south wing by 1873. The Terwilliger family came to Morris County in 1859. William Riley Terwilliger was at times a farmer, stock man, freighter, and owner of a livery stable. The Terwilliger Home is the oldest stone home and the second oldest home remaining alongside the Santa Fe Trail in Kansas.