The Pioneer Adobe House was built by Mennonite immigrants Peter and Anna Loewen in 1876, upon their arrival from Russia. It is the last surviving adobe house of its type and is furnished with period artifacts. This house style has been traditional in northern Germany for centuries and was used by Mennonites and Germans in Russia before they moved to North America to seek religious freedom in the 1870s. Special features include the central kitchen and stove, hand-grained wardrobes, dowry chests, and clocks. The Kreutziger one-room school and the Friesen Dutch windmill are also on site and part of the tour.