Kyne Museum & Topsy School
214 W Lincoln Avenue, Lincoln, KS 67455
The Kyne House was built of native post rock limestone by Timothy Kyne in 1885. Two additions have been added to make a large area for exhibits. His wife Bridget saved herself and her daughter during the May 30, 1869 Dog Soldier Indian raid by hiding her child and herself under trees on the river bank.
Estalla Kyne was a school teacher, who received her masters from the University of Iowa. She taught school in Iowa and other states. She was the granddaughter of Timothy Kyne. She donated half of the money necessary to purchase the Kyne House.
The house features a pie cupboard and kitchen table made with other original pieces. A country store, mortuary, an ornate 1900 hotel desk, complete with local advertisements, war artifacts from the Civil War-Gulf War, Masonic Hall memorabilia, F.A. Cooper Art Studio are in the attached museum.
Topsy School was moved from Franklin Township. The Topsy School was a one room elementary school.
- Other Museums: