Located on the campus of Fort Hays State University is the original Plymouth Country Schoolhouse. Through the Phi Delta Kappa Education Honorary Organization and many volunteers, the schoolhouse was brought to the FHSU campus in the fall of 1977 from Russell County.
Originally constructed in 1874, the schoolhouse was built from 3,000 quarried limestone blocks in the Russell County area. Subjects taught to the students ranging in age from 5 to 21 years were reading, penmanship, arithmetic, descriptive geography, physical geography, and physiology. Other subjects taught were U.S. history, declamation, drawing, algebra, and bookkeeping. Music was held by singing familiar songs parents taught their children. During recess children played games such as leap frog, baseball, follow-the-leader, marbles, drop-the-handkerchief, spin-the-bottle and tag.
Each year enrollment increased with the highest number of enrollees being 59 and with all the subjects in 8 grades it became difficult to teach in a one-room school. By 1904 attendance dropped sharply and the school closed until 1912 when it was opened for one year. It was again closed until 1915 when it reopened and stayed active until 1936. The school was then closed permanently at the end of the school year for several reasons, mainly lack of students, but also due to the depression, dust storms and drought.
The school educated approximately 150 children for eight years of their lives with at least 32 of them continuing on to become teachers. Visitors will see displays, documents, and artifacts on exhibit. FREE Guided tours by appointment only.