Beloit Area Chamber of Commerce is located in the historic Porter Hotel and is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. M-F. It occupies the Southwest corner of the lobby area of the former hotel. Information about the Mitchell County area and North Central Kansas are available. The historic Porter Hotel opened for business on October 11, 1939 and was built by Mitchell County native, W. Earl Porter. His name can still be seen, carved in stone, on the front of the building. Porter, a traveling salesman and later a partner of the famous retailer, J.C. Penney, sold his stock in Penney's to finance the construction of the hotel. Beloit architect Frank Slack was chosen by Porter to design the building. Construction began on October 21, 1938 with Earl Porter using his own farm equipment to dredge the basement. The style is considered Modern as it is devoid of ornamentation. When the Porter Hotel opened in 1939, it was considered one of the finest between Kansas City and Denver. In 1989, the Porter Hotel became the Porter Apartments. By 1999 the Porter family decided to close down the Porter Apartments altogether. In 2004, Continental Real Estate, Inc. of Topeka, Kansas purchased the Porter Apartments. Also at that time, it was renamed the Porter House Apartments and was listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The current owner is Midwest Housing Equity Group of Omaha, Nebraska. The Lobby area is open to visitors.