Enjoy the best vacation! Find and book area attractions & activities:  Check Availability ›
Find & book activities:  Check Availability ›

Council on Travel & Tourism

In 1987 the Kansas Legislature formed the Council on Travel and Tourism. The duties of the Council are:

  • Advise the Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism in the development and implementation of the state's tourism marketing and business development program including, but not limited to, long-range strategies for attracting visitors to the state
  • Report to the Department of Commerce information for preparation of the annual budget for the division of Tourism
  • Identify and review tourism related issues and current state policies and programs which directly or indirectly affect tourism in the state
  • Recommend the adoption of new, or the modification of existing, policies and programs, as needed
  • Prepare and submit as part of the annual report of the Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5049, and amendments thereto, a report of findings and recommendations of the Council concerning the promoting of travel and tourism in Kansas and related matters as the Council deems appropriate
  • Perform such other acts as may be necessary in carrying out the duties of the council

Voting Council Members

  • Shelia Lampe - Lampe Heritage Farm & Pumpkin Patch
  • Bridgette Jobe - Kansas City KS Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • Suzan Barnes - Grand Central Hotel & Grill (TIAK)
  • Susie Coleman - Triplett, Inc. (Petroleum Marketers)
  • Ken Corbet - Ravenwood Lodge (Sport Hunting Association)
  • Jennifer Haugh - Topeka Civic Theatre
  • Kate Goad
  • Shonda Atwater - LaPlata Consulting
  • Diane Robinson -
  • Representative Shannon Francis
  • Representative Jan Kessinger
  • Representative Jason Probst
  • Senator Mary Ware
  • Senator Bud Estes
  • Senator Julia Lynn

Ex-Officio Members

  • Kelli Hilliard - KDWPT
  • Mary Madden - Kansas Historical Society
  • Kansas Department of Commerce
  • Kansas Department of Transportation
  • Kansas Department of Agriculture