1860s Welsh Farmstead - Howe House
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. Built in 1867 by Richard Howe, a Welsh immigrant stonemason, the site holds a unique place in the history of Emporia and the surrounding area. Begun before the beginning of the Civil War, it stands as a testament to the early Welsh settlers. The homestead remains complete as it was originally platted, and was the property of three generations of the same family until it was willed to the Lyon County Historical Society in 1995 by Sarah Howe, the granddaughter of Richard Howe. This unique house is one of Emporia's oldest homes. Richard Howe and Sarah, his wife, were among the first of many Welsh settlers in the Cottonwood River Valley. The Howes were leaders in the Welsh community, and their home served as a gathering place for their fellow countrymen.The Howe House remains in near original appearance and historical integrity. Outstanding features include the eighteen-inch thick limestone walls, generous parlor fireplace, black walnut woodwork, native oak floors and original furniture, china and clothing. The homestead also includes 15 acres of bluestem grass, a well, and a barn, which contains a collection of antique farm tools and masonry equipment. The house is open for tours by appointment.